Laws regarding marijuana usage and possession are in a state of flux throughout the US. As many states loosen up their laws, it can be easy to slip into the mindset that if it is okay somewhere else, it is okay here too.
Marijuana is still illegal in Texas and penalties are strict. Even a charge for the possession of a small amount can carry significant consequences that could affect access to college loans, as well as housing and employment options.
The consequences you may face will vary on a number of things. How much was in your possession? Was there any evidence that might indicate you were involved in a sale?
You could face misdemeanor and/or felony charges, prison time, and a fine. Depending on the charge, jail time start at 180 days. Fines range from $500 to $100,000. The laws in Texas are strict, here are two examples:
- Possession of two ounces is generally a misdemeanor, but can still land you in jail for 180 days and include a $2,000 fine
- A charge for possessing four ounces or more is a felony that adds to the amount of jail time and the amount of the fine.
In addition to these charges, a conviction for possession or sale of marijuana goes on your criminal record. As background checks becomes ever more routine, the effects can cascade and affect every facet of your life. A conviction can affect gun rights, future job prospects, housing opportunities, college options and financial aid.
Why you need an advocate?
No matter the exact charge, it is important to build a solid defense. Although the laws are strict, you do have rights. A defense attorney who handles these cases every day can protect them by spotting potential issues that you would never realize existed.
Our criminal defense attorneys know how to protect your rights and fight to minimize the consequences. In some cases, we may be able to have the charges dismissed or reduced and kept off your record. If you or a loved one has been charged with a marijuana-related offense, call us for a free consultation.